2010 Next . . . True Confessions

thinking electronically

My personal commentary about ending 2009 and beginning 2010 ~ what’s next?

Are you one of those folks that makes lists of new year’s resolutions?  Do you believe in setting goals?  Do you achieve those goals?   Take a look back at 2007, 2008, 2009 (what the heck look at the decade) . . . if you are like me, you actually do achieve some goals by setting them at the beginning of the year, however, with some resolutions I am more likely to keep rolling them over to the next years page . . . check, check, un-check, rollover . . .

Technically, I don’t have a big problem with this as long as there are accomplishments on a personal and professional level.  I’m one of those people who is constantly striving to “fulfill” her destiny, be the best I can be . . . blah, blah, blah.  So I wonder if a public declaration of goals will help the achievement factor???   I am game to try.  I ask that you all be patient with me as, this is a first 🙂  I typically share my goals with my BFF and that’s about it.  I’m not ready to reveal any deep dark secrets (tee hee).   Let’s open this baby up and see what happens:

SherryTrueself’s 2010 Resolutions

1.  Lose 20lbs (lol – typical, I know, but it is a goal.  I will add – healthy eating and exercise to that goal)

2.  Become a social networking ninja (I really just want to be at above average proficiency to leverage the capabilities for professional and personal growth.  Ha Ha . . . that was a mouthful.  In layman’s terms – understand how to best leverage this stuff for good)

3.  Volunteer . . . I did a good amount of volunteering in 2008.  2009 is a blur, it just whizzed by and I realized that I didn’t give my time to worthy causes.

4.  Be a wise mommy – true confessions – my 7 year old tells me I am a smart mommy, but not wise.  When he keeps asking for stuff and I give in (mostly, the xtra piece of candy).   He has advised me that I shouldn’t tell him yes just because he keeps bugging me (“out of the mouths of babes”).  So now, when he tries his tactics, I just say “I’m practicing being a wise mommy”.  Those that know little “D” know how persuasive he is . . . it’s an excuse, but hey in all other aspects I’m pretty good!

5.  Stretch and Soar! – what does this mean?  This one is open to interpretation ~ I’ll report back in 12 months . . .

I’m stopping at 5.  Yep, any Coach or HR person will tell you to set realistic, attainable goals.  Any more than this can get overwhelming.  I have shared my personal goals in a very PUBLIC forum.  I dare you to share yours.  We can do this together.  Happy New Year – SS

2 thoughts on “2010 Next . . . True Confessions”

Leave a Reply

